Reopening in East London on 4 Nov 2023

Burnt Sugar - Avni Doshi

Burnt Sugar - Avni Doshi

Regular price
$12.00
Sale price
$12.00
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
per 
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

SHORTLISTED FOR THE BOOKER PRIZE 2020LONGLISTED FOR THE WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTION 2021WINNER OF THE SUSHILA DEVI AWARD 2021NEW YORK TIMES 100 NOTABLE BOOKS OF 2021A searing debut novel about mothers and daughters, obsession and betrayal - for fans of Jenny Offill, Deborah Levy, Rachel Cusk and Diana Evans'Beautifully written, emotionally wrenching and poignant in equal measure' The Booker Prize Judges 2020'An unsettling, sinewy debut, startling in its venom and disarming in its humour from the very first sentence' Guardian'I would be lying if I said my mother's misery has never given me pleasure.'This is a tale of obsession and betrayal. This is a poisoned love story. But not between lovers - between mother and daughter.

Tara and Antara, a woman and her angry shadow. But which one is which?Sharp as a blade and compulsively readable, Burnt Sugar slowly untangles the knot of memory and rumour that binds two women together, revealing the truth that lies beneath. 'A work of extraordinary insight, courage and sophistication' Washington Post'Arresting and fiercely intelligent, disarmingly witty and frank' Sunday Times 'A sly, slippery, often heartbreaking novel about the role memory plays within families' Stylist'Extraordinary...

Come for the effortlessly stylish writing, stay for the boiling wrath' Observer

------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Format: Paperback / softback 240 pages
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Weight:170g
Dimensions:129 x 198 x 19 (mm)
ISBN: 9780241989142

×

We often restock popular items or they may be returned by the other customers. If you would like to be notified when this happens just enter your details below.


Please select variant
Please enter name
Invalid email address
Your notification has been registered. Close
Looks like you already have notifications active for this size!

We respect your privacy and don't share your email with anybody.

×

Thank you, we have now received and recorded your request to be notified should Burnt Sugar - Avni Doshi be restocked.

We will only use your email for this purpose, if you wish to cancel this request please

Cancel request

We have cancelled your request.